Living Abroad: My Apartment in Peru (Part 1- Video Tour)

In 2012, I was able to come closer to my goal of living in or traveling to all of the continents when I decided to pack my bags once again, taking a new job as an English teacher and heading down to South America for another exciting experience in another part of the world I had yet to explore. I settled into Arequipa, Peru, “The White City”, nestled in a valley surrounded by the snow-capped Andes Mountains. It boasts of almost 300 days of sunshine and has a culture that intermingles a bit of the old with the new and lots of rich, bright colors. After over a week’s search through homes and apartments with leads and help from a few people, I finally settled on a place recommended by my soon-to-be Canadian neighbor who happened to be the owner of the only fish-n-chips restaurant in the city.

My apartment was owned by an older Peruvian couple which had the small apartment building built behind their home. There were only three units- mine, my Canadian neighbor’s and the daughter of the owners with her husband and daughter. Although not like an apartment in the U.S., as none I’ve lived in abroad have been, it was of pretty decent standards for Arequipa, Peru. Now, I invite you to take a short video tour of it, and you can tell me what you think.

If you haven’t seen what apartments are like in East Asia before, you can also catch a brief video tour of my apartment in Korea, by clicking here. Stay tuned for Part 2 of “Living Abroad: My Apartment in Peru” where I’ll share pictures, too. Oh, and feel free to ask me any questions about Arequipa or Peru in general, as well as any about living abroad or teaching English. Plus, I invite you to sign-up to follow me as I share more of my experiences and journey as I pursue my dreams.

Categories: apartment, dreams, English, goals, Teaching EFL/ESL experience, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Living Abroad: My Apartment in Peru (Part 1- Video Tour)

  1. Jennifer

    Compared to hostels in Peru, that is a really nice apartment but has that Peruvian look to it. Often it is surprising what you find behind the outside view of a house too.

    • Yes, it does have that Peruvian look, Jennifer. I got used to it, though. Plus, it was very safe and in a good location. I actually would have never known it was back there, behind the house if it weren’t for my neighbor who told me about it when I stopped by his restaurant and told him I was looking for apartments.

  2. DeeDe

    Okay! That kitchen stressed me out. I can deal with the shower, but the refrigerator and stove/oven? What are you supposed to do with that? Ugh! I should have never looked at this video- lol!!

    • Lol…Calm down DeeDe :-) Mine is just what you’d typically find for a 1-bedroom. Actually, 1-bedrooms are not as abundant in Peru as family homes or multiple room apartments. It’s kind of a culture thing. Most Peruvians do not live alone, many living with family until they marry or even living together as extended families once married. Even some of the younger opt not to live alone but have roommates. So, it’d be more difficult to find a 1-bedroom which is usually much more expensive because of that. So, I was paying a lot more than a lot of other people. It’d be easier to find a 2-bedroom apartment. However, I understand about the kitchen thing. It wasn’t a shock to me, though as when I was in Korea, I only had a small stove top with burners but no oven at all. I was glad to have the oven, although it was really small. Lol…I had to shop for the right-sized baking dish to fit it and kind of turn it to fit, and I had to just trade out dishes if I planned to cook more than two items or meals that required a few steps being that I only had two burners ;-). Actually the shower thing was something I still haven’t gotten used to since I grew up taking baths and love them. However, in most other countries around the world, the bathrooms mostly only have showers just like Peru. I’ve learned to adapt to the differences, though. It’s all just part of the experience. (However, someone hipped me to the fact that there are portable bathtubs. So, the next place I travel that doesn’t have a bathtub, I will definitely be ordering one of those.) Also remember that mine was just a typical 1-bedroom. There are some that are furnished and some unfurnished. You can usually add things if there’s room. I actually bought a washer for mine. Many teachers roomed together in multi-room apartments or in family homes where most had access to bigger appliances because they were more so designed for families. Also quite a few people live with families who rent out rooms, some allowing you access to their full kitchen or even providing meals for them. Then, there are a couple of places that just rent out rooms with maybe a personal bathroom in each with a full kitchen that all tenants have access to. Some hostels also do that. So, you can definitely shop around until you find what suits you. I rented from private owners, so they pretty much decide what they want to provide in their apartments. Lol…sorry the kitchen stressed you out, though…lol :-).

  3. When I saw what you have, I felt that if I was living there, I would be cramped. There really is not enough room for my computing equipment – I have two laptops & router & printer. I also have two tablets. I have been in smaller, but most places were larger.
    Hard beds are good for your back and it has been years since I have had a tub big enough for me (I am a bit tall), a lot of years. The small fridge and tiny cooker means no dinner guests. Not a problem for an Old Fart like me, but for a pretty young thing like yourself, it could put a crimp on things.
    Then I saw your Korean place. That place I like.
    Good Luck anyway.

    • Hi Hugh! Glad to see you stopped by. If you search and network, you can find a bigger place. There were actually two other apartments, 2-bedrooms that I would have preferred. One was in a very nice gated community, a newly add-on apartment to a family home. The apartment was separate with it’s own upper level entrance, and it was nice inside, although it didn’t have an oven, only a hot plate and microwave. However, it had one of those awesome jacuzzi-like bathtubs which I so wanted. The price was just too high unless I had a roommate. The other 2-bedroom was just a bit further from my job but one of the tenants was still there and we weren’t sure when he would be leaving and my boss wanted me to be in a permanent place before I started work so I chose to move into the 1-bedroom, although it was a bit pricier since it was available right away. The 2-bedroom was much bigger with a full kitchen (with a small washer) and a good-sized living/dining room area which was I believe between 100-200 soles cheaper than the 1-bedroom with the electric and internet included in the rent which wasn’t with the 1-bedroom. I know you probably had nice accommodations in Saudi Arabia. Most of the compounds were. I actually was going to buy a tub while I was in Peru. They were easily under $200. The funny thing is that they were all so long, yet most of the people are so small. My friend told me it’s probably because they’re considered a luxury. I would have gotten one put in my bathroom, but they wouldn’t have been able to fit because of the set-up. Lol…I don’t know about those hard beds, though. They had me in pain for a couple of weeks until I finally told my landlord who had her granddaughter to help me turn it. It was like that in the hostels, too that I stayed in before I got my apartment.

      I kind of lucked up in Kore since I was in a rural area and was so thankful. Most people who lived in the bigger cities had smaller apartments, some like dorm-room size studios.

  4. “Unlike any apartment in the U.S….” It looks better than multiple one- bedroom apartments I’ve seen in Los Angeles. I don’t need that much room so I like it. Very cozy. ‘m looking forward to more updates from you, missy!

    • Hi Yvie :-)…Really? I’ve never been to L.A. before, but I’d imagine it’s nice there from what I’ve heard about it. I liked it, too, just wished the rent was lower. I guess I meant unlike apartments in the places I’ve been in in the U.S., like with a bathtub and hot water from the tap in the kitchen. I was okay with no hot water for the tap in the kitchen b/c I could just boil it or bring it from the bathroom for washing my dishes. However, not having a bathtub really sucks for me no matter where I go b/c I prefer baths over showers. Now, I know they sell portable ones. I wish I knew about those when I first started traveling abroad :-).

  5. Pingback: Living Abroad: My Apartment in Peru (Part 2) | Butterfly Jewel

  6. Spacious, nice – let’s hope the apartment in your new country matches this one.

  7. Pingback: Living Abroad: My Villa in Saudi Arabia | Butterfly Jewel

Share Your Thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

